Jim Minz

Jim Minz


Baen Books Executive Editor James Minz has worked in publishing for a quarter century. It all began in a dark and dreary basement in Madison, Wisconsin, where he started out as a lowly slave intern for James Frenkel. By the time he left four years later, the offices had been transplanted to a bright and cheery attic. While there Minz worked in a wide variety of capacities--mostly as an editorial assistant, literary agent and packager of anthologies, including co-packager of the highly regarded annual The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror edited by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling.

In September 1997, the siren song of the New York City publishing scene was simply too strong to resist, and he joined the editorial staff of Tom Doherty Associates (i.e. Tor, Forge, Orb, etc.) as David Hartwell's assistant. After several years of working on way too many books in way too small a window of time, he had accumulated enough of a list of his own authors to justify his very own job as a full Editor. Coffee, cake and scotch ensued. After those were all gone, there was nothing left to do but join the other German publishing empire, so on January 31, 2005, Herr Minz joined the editorial staff of Del Rey Books of the Random House Publishing Group (i.e. he moved from Holtzbrinck to Bertelsmann). After a couple years with the largest publishing company in the US, it was time to move on.

So on the centennial of Heinlein's birth, Minz joined Baen Books as Senior Editor. And he has been there ever since...

Authors he has worked with include Catherine Asaro, Larry Correia, Hal Duncan, Eric Flint, Terry Goodkind, Elizabeth Haydon, Nancy Kress, Mercedes Lackey, Elizabeth Moon, Frederik Pohl, John Ringo, Robert J. Sawyer, Travis S. Taylor, Harry Turtledove, Vernor Vinge, David Weber, Jack Williamson, Gene Wolfe, and Timothy Zahn, among many, many others.

For more information, here is a link to an interview: https://www.baen.com/Interviews/intMinz It’s a bit long on the tooth, but still mostly true…

Scheduled Programming Events Featuring Jim Minz

Day Time Name of Event
Fri 05:00PM Opening Ceremonies

Opportunity to meet the LibertyCon Guests and Staff

CC: Ballroom E
(60 min)
Fri 08:00PM Changes in the World of Publishing

This panel of publishers will discuss the pros and cons of the current changes ongoing in the publishing industry. Toni Weisskopf, Mod.

Sat 10:00AM Baen Wives Live!
Jim Minz moderates this panel which reprises the Baen Podcast topic - writer's spouses get together to answer questions about what it's like living with an author.
Sat 02:00PM Baen Traveling Roadshow and Prize Patrol

Toni Weisskopf will be running the crowd through the best of what's going on in the Baen universe. (And there will be giveaways!)

Sun 10:00AM Kaffeeklatsch

Have coffee / continental breakfast and chat with the pros

M: Tennessee River Room
Michael J. Allen
Arlan Andrews
Steve Antczak
Lou Antonelli
Charity Ayres
Jonathan David Baird
Griffin Barber
Paul Barrett
Jim Beall
J. D. Beckwith
David Bogen
Karen Bogen
Scott Bragg
Brett Brooks
Douglas Burbey
David L. Burkhead
David (D.J.) Butler
Joseph Capdepon II
Anna Grace Carpenter
Rachel Cates
Jack Clemons
Julie Cochrane
David B. Coe / D. B. Jackson
Brian Cooksey
Jason Cordova
Bridget Correia
Larry Correia
Terry Culver
Jim Curtis
Doug Dandridge
Dr. Ben Davis
Jonathan Del Arroz
Kary English
Karen Evans
Kevin Evans
Robert S. Evans
Kacey Ezell
Eric Flint
Monalisa Foster
A. M. Freeman
Julie Frost
Karl Gallagher
Melissa Gay
Amie Gibbons
Peter Grant
Michael H. Hanson
Jonna Hayden
Louise Herring-Jones
Taylor S Hoch
Dan Hollifield
John Holmes
Teresa Howard
Rob Howell
Daniel M. Hoyt
Sarah A. Hoyt
Daniel Humphreys
Kevin Ikenberry
Steve Jackson
Bryan Jones
J.D. Jordan
Cecilia Star Kachina
Chris Kennedy
Dorothy Klapp
Tom Kratman
L. Jagi Lamplighter
Dina Leacock
D. Alan Lewis
Doug Loss
Tamara Lowery
Terry Maggert
Amanda Makepeace
Geoffrey Mandragora
Mike Massa
Edward McKeown
Megan Miller
Jim Minz
Nan Monroe
Laura Montgomery
Anita Moore
Nico Murray
Jon R. Osborne
David E. Pascoe
Mike Resnick
Gray Rinehart
William Joseph Roberts
Jay Roye
Philip Paul Sacco
Cedar Sanderson
Hans G. Schantz
Dave Schroeder
Julia Morgan Scott
Lydia Sherrer
Martin Shoemaker
Stephen J. Simmons
Benjamin Tyler Smith
Cathe Smith
Chris Smith
Andrew Souvinette
Kal Spriggs
Melisa Todd
Tiffany Toland-Scott
John Van Stry
Justin Watson
Toni Weisskopf
Rich Weyand
Dawn Witzke
Marisa Wolf
Chris Woods
John Wright
James Young
(60 min)
You might also be interested in these...

Back to Our Programming Schedule