Robert E. Waters
1632 Series Author

Robert E. Waters


Robert E Waters is a technical writer by trade, but has been a science fiction/fantasy fan all his life. He has worked in the computer and board gaming industry since 1994 as designer, producer, and writer. In the late 90s, he tried his hand at writing fiction, and since 2003, has sold over 8 novels and 80 stories to various on-line and print magazines and anthologies, including the Grantville Gazette, Eric Flints online magazine dedicated to publishing stories set in the 1632/Ring of Fire Alternate History series.

Roberts first 1632/Ring of Fire novel, 1636: Calabars War, (co-authored with Charles E Gannon), was just recently published by Baen Books. Robert has also co-written several 1632 stories, including the Persistence of Dreams (Ring of Fire Press), with Meriah L Crawford, and The Monster Society, with Eric S Brown.

Robert is the author of The Mask Cycle, a Baroque fantasy series which include the novels The Masks of Mirada and The Thief of Cragsport (Ring of Fire Press).

Robert currently lives in Baltimore, Maryland with his wife Beth, their son Jason, and their two precocious little cats, Snow and Ash.

Visit his website at

Scheduled Programming Events Featuring Robert E. Waters

Day Time Name of Event
Fri 05:00PM Opening Ceremonies

Take advantage of the opportunity to meet the LibertyCon Guests and Staff and learn about this year's planned festivities!

Sat 12:00PM GURPS - Gaming in the Ring of Fire

Steve Jackson moderates this panel on GURPS - the Generic Universal Role Playing System - and how it is used in gaming in Eric Flint's "Ring of Fire" universe.


Sat 10:00PM Reading: Robert E. Waters

Come hear author Robert Waters read passages from his works.

(60 min)
You might also be interested in these...

The Wayward Eight: A Contract to Die For

Fantastic Futures 13

Grantville Gazette #50

Back to Our Programming Schedule