top of page

Howard Andrew Jones



Howard Andrew Jones lives in a lonely tower by the Sea of Monsters with a wicked and beautiful enchantress. His Baen sword-and-sorcery series debuted in 2023, starting with Lord of a Shattered Land and The City of Marble and Blood and continues with Shadow of the Smoking Mountain. He’s the author of the Ring-Sworn trilogy and historical Arabian fantasy novels from St. Martin's, four Pathfinder novels, and dozens of published short stories. He was the driving force behind the rebirth of interest in Harold Lamb’s historical fiction, and assembled and edited 8 collections of Lamb’s work for the University of Nebraska Press. He edits the sword-and-sorcery magazine Tales From the Magician’s Skull.

When not helping run his small family farm or spending time with his wife and children, he can be found hunched over his laptop or notebook, mumbling about flashing swords and doom-haunted towers. He’s worked variously as a TV cameraman, a book editor, a recycling consultant, and as a writing instructor at a mid-western college. He can be found lurking at, where he blogs about writing craft, gaming, fantasy and adventure fiction, and assorted nerdery. He holds a third degree black belt in Shotokan Karate and wrote this bio while eating stale popcorn.


Paladins of Valor

Book 5 of 5: Libri Valoris


The City of Marble and Blood

Book 2 of 2: Chronicles of Hanuvar


Lord of a Shattered Land

Book 1 of 2: Chronicles of Hanuvar

bottom of page