top of page

Sleeping Duty

Book 1 of 3: Waking Late

A lost starship. A lost colony. A cryo-frozen space marine.

Gilead Tan and Andrea Fielding survived their stint in the military, got married, signed up to emigrate to a terraformed colony world, and went into cold sleep for the journey from Earth. While they slept, the starship went through the wrong fold in space and settled for a different world, a wild world.

Three centuries after the founding of a colony on the uncharted planet, Gilead awakens to find humanity slipped back to medieval tech and a feudal structure.

Worse, the king who wants Gilead awake won’t let Gilead awaken his wife.

When Gilead learns the awful truth of what happened in the colony’s early days, he despairs. But he must learn to go on because only he can save the other sleeping colonists whose lives the king insists belong to "the greater good."

Sleeping Duty is the first book in the immersive Waking Late science fiction series. If you like gripping action, insurmountable odds, and alien worlds, you’ll love this rugged adventure.


Laura Montgomery
bottom of page